tom yum soup vegetarian

What is tom yum soup made of? Is Tom Yum soup Vegetarian? Let’s find out. In this article we will discover the tom yum soup ingredients and see if you can enjoy this soup as a vegetarian.

Tom yum or tom yam is a type of hot and sour Thai soup, usually cooked with shrimp. Tom yum has its origin in Thailand.

Tom yum soup is characterised by its distinct hot and sour flavours, with fragrant spices and herbs generously used in the broth. The soup is also made with fresh ingredients such as lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, galangal, lime juice, fish sauce, and crushed red chili peppers.

Commercial tom yum paste is made by crushing all the herb ingredients and stir frying in oil, then adding seasoning and other preservative ingredients.[1]

The paste is bottled or packaged and sold around the world. Tom yum flavored with the paste may have different characteristics from that made with fresh herb ingredients.

The soup often includes meats such as shrimp, chicken, or pork.

Is it vegetarian? Is tom yum soup vegetarian? Traditionally speaking, NO – Tom yum soup isn’t always suitable for vegetarians as it often contains shrimp or pork and fish sauce.

However, this isn’t always the case as you can make it vegetarian with just a few plant-based ingredients.

The vegetarian Tom Yum soup ingredients are : Vegetable stock, lemongrass, red chiles, garlic, galangal (or ginger), mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, brown sugar, soy sauce, fresh lime juice, fresh basil and fresh cilantro leaves.

The vegetarian Tom Yum soup has fewer than 100 calories per cup.


Similar Posts