10 Surprisingly Vegetarian and Vegan Friendly Snacks

After feeling peckish for some snacks, I also became curious to find out to which snacks are vegetarian and vegan friendly.

With the research I found, I was really surprised by some nibbles that turned out to be vegan friendly snacks.

Here are 10 vegetarian and vegan friendly snacks:


bubblegum-millions -vegan friendly snacks

These sweets have been one of my favourites since I was 8 years old visiting my local corner shop and getting a bags worth of the strawberry and bubble-gum flavour.

Because these are chewy I was surprised to read they were vegan friendly.

‘Millions’ have been approved by the Vegetarian Society and are suitable for both vegan and vegetarians.

2-Rowntree’s Jelly Tots

Again, another chewy sweet but more jelly-like than ‘Millions’ (hence the name).

I initially thought these sweets contained gelatin, but it states on the Nestle website as well as the PDF file of nutritional information, that Jelly Tots are vegan friendly.

3-Oreo Cookies

When researching whether or not these were suitable, I noticed there had been a lot of debate around if these were actually suitable for vegans.

Despite PETA stating on their website that Oreos are vegan friendly, the Oreo website dismisses this by adding they are not suitable for vegans as they have cross contact with milk.

They are, however, suitable for vegetarians.

oreos Vegetarian and Vegan Friendly Snacks

READ : Are Oreos Vegan ?

4-Peanut Butter

I feel like I should’ve known peanut butter would be suitable for vegans, because after all, it is just crushed peanuts with added salt – products not made by animals- and it can also be added to foods such as the likes of veggie burgers.

Peanut butter is actually really good for vegans and highly recommended because peanuts contain protein, something that is mainly found in meat.

5-Foxes Party Rings

Another childhood favourite.

These snacks never actually used to be suitable for vegans up until last year when the coloured icing contained gelatin.

However, since then the recipe has been changed and it states on the packet that they are now suitable.

6-Pink Panther Waffers

These biscuits contain no animal or dairy product in the recipe whatsoever, despite the creamy middle texture.

Although they are based upon a line, Rivington Biscuits, which do handle dairy ingredients.

7-Ritz Crackers

Despite these crackers buttery taste, you can in fact also eat these if you are vegan.

I saw some arguments saying that these contained cheese but there is no traces of cheese according to the ingredients.

You are supposed to put the cheese on top! As you would with most crackers…. All safe.


Luckily, if you live in the UK and are vegan you can eat original Starbursts.

This is printed on the packaging.

Sadly, in the USA non-vegetarian gelatin is used to make these chewy sweets.


9-Red Bull

For being a highly stimulated energy drink, I was surprised to see that there was absolutely zero animal traces.

It states on the official Red Bull website that the drink is gluten free, dairy free, vegan and lactose free.

I wonder why it is so bad for you then.

10-Butterkist Popcorn Sweet Cinema Style

My all-time favourite popcorn.

The Sweet Cinema Style popcorn contains no dairy products, making it suitable for vegans, unlike the toffee popcorn (also amazing) which does – at least that is suitable for vegetarians.

This post has now prompted me to next find out which foods you may think are vegan friendly, but actually aren’t and products that once were but no longer are….. watch this space!

For a longer list of surprising vegan products you can view it here via the PETA website.

Leave a Comment