Can Vegans Eat Yogurt? Is Yogurt Vegan?

Wondering if vegans can eat yogurt or not? You’re in the right place!

One of the foods that many people think they will have to give up, when going vegan, is yogurt.

As most traditional yoghurts are dairy based but there are now many vegan yogurt brands and vegan yogurt cultures.

When I was vegetarian, i used to love yogurt with granola and fruit.

I use it in my smoothies all the time.

But I also liked the health benefits of yogurt.

Fermented foods like yogurt are extremely good for the gut and are full of beneficial body flora and probiotics.

They also aid in digesting and build the immune system.

So yogurt was not something i wanted to lose…and it is so yummy.

Luckily I found that all vegan / non dairy yogurts have beneficial flora and probiotics on levels similar to dairy yogurts.

And they taste just as good.

READ : How To Make Your Own Greek Yogurt

When you need vegan yogurt you have two basic choices: you can buy it or make it. 

There are  a lot of brands of non dairy yogurt on the market now. Like Trader Joe’s, Nancy’s, Stonyfield O’Soy Yogurt and coconut Dairy Free to name a few.

There are two main things to look out for when choosing one: sugar and carageenan (or other sources of MSG).

A lot of non-dairy yogurts contain quite a lot of sugar per serving, which doesn’t make it very healthy.

Personally, I like to go for Nancy’s Plain and then I mix in my own sweeteners or flavorings (fruit, vanilla, maple syrup, orange oil, etc.).

Also make sure you check the ingredients to make sure there are no animal products, like gelatin, casein etc.

As they are sometimes present in soy products.

Making vegan yogurt recipe at home is in my opinion the best option.

It’s easy, fun and cheap…and you can make your own flavors.

To make yogurt at home you are going to need a few things.

Firstly you need some soy milk and some yogurt culture.

If you have a yogurt maker then follow instructions and put mixture into your yogurt maker instead of the oven.

So, can vegans eat yogurt? yes they can and they have much choices as non vegans.

READ : Are Oreos vegan?

Here’s a Simple Vegan Yogurt Recipe  

Make Yogurt With Your Own Flavor

Add your own flavor to your yogurt with fruit, berries, nuts and syrups.

Berries like strawberries, blueberries  and raspberries are perfect to mix with your home made vegan yogurt.

You can also find many toppings and syrups that are vegan, in fact most fruit based toppings and syrups are vegan, just check the ingredients

If you want to make chocolate yogurt just mix some dates, cacao and a little water in a blender to make a chocolates sauce…then mix this in with your yogurt.

There are so many different flavors you can make, it’s a lot of fun making and finding new flavors for your yogurt.

Making vegan yogurt at home is really easy and much cheaper than buying it, so have fun with it and see what you can create…..

Thanks for reading and I hope you found this post useful.

Please leave a comment telling what you thought and if you have made your own vegan yogurt at home

You May Also Like : What Does Greek Yogurt Taste Like?

The answer is no. Greek Yogurt in its traditional form is not vegan because it is made from cow's milk. Vegans don't consume any products that are derived from meat, dairy, eggs, dairy, or fish.

Greek yogurt is considered to be vegetarian, because a vegetarian diet consists of vegetables, fruits, grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, eggs, dairy products and honey.

Yes there are many vegan yogurt brand in the market today. here's a list of 5 best vegan yogurt:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top